So much better than Chicken Soup for the Soul.

For anyone that knows me personally, they would know that majority of my holidays have been consumed by reading. I have been a huge reader since the age of 5, and before then having someone read me a story was a serious highlight of the day. So reading for three months straight is not out of the ordinary for me at all. However recently there has been a huge shift in what I have been reading. The last few months I put down the scientific journal articles and picked up books on spiritual enlightenment. Wait! Before I lose you, I’m not about to get all preachy about spiritual ways of life, but what I have found is how much of myself I have unlocked because of these books. I am a huge believer of always developing yourself and growing through life. I’ve also always been quite spiritual but have never really expanded or developed that side of my self and reading and taking time for myself has really allowed me to express that side of myself.

I’ve had a lot of friends ask me about the books I’ve been reading as of late because these books have blown my mind and I talk about them all the time! So I thought I’d compile a list and review some of what I’ve been reading over the last few months and maybe they’ll blow your mind too!

Now I don’t want you to think that you have to read so avidly like I did to get through this list, or even read with a sense of purpose but there are so many pearls of wisdom in these books that even finding the time for one of them will greatly improve your thinking. So often we get caught up in FOMO and comparisonitis. Our millennial generation is known as the “burn out” generation because we’re fuelling ourselves with should be’s and things that don’t really align with who we are.

So if you at any point are in a state of stress or anxiety or feel miserable and run down or stuck then these books are for you. No one should go through life in that state and feel like it is normal, because it is not. Our constant state should be peace and joy and anything else is not who we are. 

 

Now the list I’ve compiled are in order of how I think you should approach them. Of course you do you, but if you’re anything like me and never picked up a book about wellness and enlightenment in your life, then its actually quite a hard topic to get your head around because it goes against everything we believe our lives to be. There are even terms at times that don’t seem tangible and have no measurable definition. I found that reading these books in this order really helped me to slowly grasp the ideas and concepts and allowed me to really open my mind to what I was reading.

** Disclaimer: Nearly everyone one of these books mention the word god and giving yourself to god etc. If thats not your thing, don’t let it put you off, find a different word to replace it with like the universe, gratitude, manifestation, meditation, life, etc. 

 

  1. The Alchemist – Paulo Colleo

Someone once told me that everyone should read this book in their lifetime and I scoffed at the idea. Pls mate, everyone should read Harry Potter, not this little thing. It’s a small book, the writing is easy to follow and well I just didn’t see the appeal to it- I totally judged it by its cover. However one day I was walking through this enormous book shop and it kind of just caught my eye and I just thought why not. A $24 YOLO event later, I was hooked on this tiny little book that I had previously had no intent to read or love.

This book is a fictional story that follows the journey of a young man through life. It speaks of the importance of finding your life’s purpose and trusting your intuition. Although it seems like just a story whilst reading it, there is so much wisdom in it that I was mind blown. I’ve read this book close to 4 times and every time I read it it teaches me something new. Can you believe it? A fictional story taught me something about life. For me this book taught me the power of relinquishing control and following your hearts desires.

Learn from my initial cynicism, please go and do yourself a favour and read this awesome and inspiring book! If you get nothing out of it, then you’ll have read an epic story in a day or two. But honestly, I think you’ll get more than just a story from this little gem. I think it’ll show you whats missing in your life.

“Tell your heart that the fear of suffering is worse than the suffering itself. And that no heart has ever suffered when it goes in search of its dreams, because every second of the search is a second’s encounter with God and with eternity.”

 

2. Breaking the Habit of Being yourself – Dr Joe Dispenza

Let me just start of by saying if you like psychology, are science minded, need hard evidence to have your mind changed about anything, then this is the book for you. As I said earlier I have always been a spiritual person but I’ve always been someone to question and need hard facts about things. I’ve spent the last 5 years studying streams of science and well I need cold hard facts before I change my mind about anything. So starting a spiritual journey has been hard for me because so much of it is placed in the unknown- until now.

This book looks at how to change your life and your self through science and quantum physics. Now before you turn your head at this one, this book is not aimed at academics, it is aimed at people like you and me and I promise the science is so relatable you won’t even have to google any of the words. I will admit, in saying that this book is well researched and supported, you still must have an open mind to it. The first few chapters are incredibly well written but there were times where I was questioning the sanity of the guy writing it. But once the theory is out of the way, Joe contextualises it with reality and it all just made so much sense. When I read this book its like something clicked and I’ve never looked back. I really could not recommend this book enough. 

Breaking the habit of being yourself, looks at the different ways you limit yourself in your daily life, the negative emotions that come from that and how to really achieve those big dreams and goals in your life without the cold hard attachment to it all. It empowers you to create a reality of your choosing by bridging the gap between science and spirituality.

If you are highly emotional and sensitive,  at a point in your life where you crave change, you’re ready to start manifesting your dreams or you just want to learn more about who you are and how to grow through life, I cannot recommend this book enough! It is a thicker book and took me a little while to get through but that is not because it isn’t engaging, its more because there is so much new information being thrown at you that you need time to process what you’re reading.

“Can you accept the notion that once you change your internal state, you don’t need the external world to provide you with a reason to feel joy, gratitude, appreciation, or any other elevated emotion?”

 

3. The Power of Now- Eckhart Tolle

If any of you are spiritual at all you’ll have come across the title of this book and the author a thousand times. Eckhart Tolle is known to be a guru in the spiritual world for his wisdom and knowledge in the area. So naturally I was super excited to get my hands on this little book and know more. However, this book was super challenging for me to get my head around. It only took me two days to read but there was so much talk about things I had never come across before that I found it overwhelming.

In saying that it is a brilliant book focusing on the power of being present and its ability to help us seek peace in our soul. If you are ready to let go of what you know, embrace that some parts of life can’t be explained and torn apart by science this book will break you open and create a new being. The power and wisdom in this book is profound but again the approach is to be open minded and accepting.

And if you were like me and struggled to accept and understand this book then don’t worry, get through it and my next recommendation will take it down a notch and solidify it all.

“As soon as you honor the present moment, all unhappiness and struggle dissolve, and life begins to flow with joy and ease. When you act out the present-moment awareness, whatever you do becomes imbued with a sense of quality, care, and love – even the most simple action.”

 

4. The Untethered Soul: The Journey Beyond Yourself – Michael Singer

If I could be in love with a book, then this book is my soulmate. This book brought together everything that the last books had spoken about and put it into terms that were super easy to understand and relate to. I felt like I finally understood all the spiritual jargon in every day terms. I didn’t have to go in with an open mind because everything made sense.

My favourite thing about this book is that its genuine. Its not some person who’s mastered enlightenment and forgotten that the rest of us have no clue how to reach that state. This book speaks to you from a level we can all relate to. It cuts through the doubts that pop up in your head as you’re reading and it’s not too complex to read. If there was one book from this list you’d choose to read make it this one! 

Michael breaks down every little aspect of your life and teaches you how to live it better. It talks about the way we process emotions, how we are attached to our problems, how to fix that, how to accept love, how to relinquish hate, how to stop living in a constant state of stress and anxiety. How to be find peace. It is simple yet so beautifully effective and real. (See told you I was in love).

“To get some distance from this, you first need to get some perspective. Walk outside on a clear night and just look up into the sky. You are sitting on a planet spinning around in the middle of absolutely nowhere. Though you can only see a few thousand stars, there are hundreds of billions of stars in our Milky Way Galaxy alone. In fact, it is estimated that there are over a trillion stars in the Spiral Galaxy. And that galaxy would look like one star to us, if we could even see it. You’re just standing on one little ball of dirt and spinning around one of the stars. From that perspective, do you really care what people think about your clothes or your car? Do you really need to feel embarrassed if you forget someone’s name? How can you let these meaningless things cause pain? If you want out, if you want a decent life, you had better not devote your life to avoiding psychological pain. You had better not spend your life worrying about whether people like you or whether your car impresses people. What kind of life is that? It is a life of pain. You may not think that you feel pain that often, but you really do. To spend your life avoiding pain means it’s always right behind you.”

 

5. The Life Changing Magic of not giving a F*#K – Sarah Knight

To change the pace a little bit, I wanted to end my recommendations on this little gem. I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard at a non-fictional book. I am not kidding. So great. The book is laid out in the title, its a book focussing on us not caring so much about trivial things and letting our worries way us down. Basically just stop giving a fuck.  But like, 1000x funnier than that. If you can deal with the fact the word “Fuck” comes up at least 10 times a page, then seriously pick this book up and have fun with it! You’ll come out laughing and feeling liberated!

“Expert: Next time someone mentions your coworker Regina’s sexting habit, simply put up your hand and repeat after me: “Imma tell her you said that.” Voilà! You are no longer trusted with gossip. Team-building”

 

 

Leave a Reply

